Larry Smith is a G.

Yesterday, I went to a presentation by Larry Smith. I must say, it was a very useful hour and a half. The event was booked to capacity and I think up to fifty other people were put on the waiting list. I was one of those—and apparently the event sold out long before posters went up around campus; it was only posted on online bulletin boards, and within 2 to 3 hours, FULL! The event was titled “What’s your Problem?” Basically a lecture style talk to “Identify Killer Problems” in the world today. 

After I saw the posters, I scanned the QR code and saved it to register later. When I got home I tried registering, and got an error message saying…Image

I’m not gonna lie, I almost cried. Larry is ma boy!! Honestly, I could listen to this guy all day for the rest of my life. I’ve seen him in his office a few times to talk about some entrepreneurial ideas I had (really though who doesn’t), and he is such a captivating speaker. Like it’s not even funny. Very hard to explain even. Every time I’ve gone to see him, he does this thing where he occasionally moves his chair towards you as he speaks. With knees touching, he then starts speaking softly as though sharing a secret. If only lectures were always like this. 

The one thing I took away from this talk (other than the notes I had) that change has and will always happen in the world—whether it’s the 70s, 80s or whatever. We’re in another wave of change, so let’s use the tools we have to share ideas, and to think about some of the big problems we face today. Stuff like this kinda gets you fired up, but most importantly it has enabled me to push the boundaries of self imposed barriers to my thinking. 

About Shlo "sunny delight" Mo

Aspiring Author. Music Lover. Into Jobs that don't exist yet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

