“Bella”

Write about your strongest memory of heart-pounding belly-twisting nervousness: what caused the adrenaline? Was it justified? How did you respond?

I used to be really shy a few years ago, like extremely shy especially around girls. When I first came to Canada, it was wrecked! Like to the dopest level. I visited my mum in 2010; when I was heading back to Toronto, I went through Manchester Airport. I said bye, hugs and all that gooey stuff, checked in and after a few minutes I’m sitting in the waiting area. In about 10 minutes we’ll be boarding the flight for a seven hour trip. Fun Stuff. I hate air travel.

Anyway, I’m quietly sitting down reading Gladwell’s Blink. Good book. For some reason I felt the need to take out my headphones. Probably wanted to hear any announcements. A few minutes in, someone comes to sit right next to me. Almost immediately, from the corner of my eye, I could tell she was female, and they wanted to talk. I’m like F! I can’t do that! I can’t have conversations with random people! I kept reading-ish. After a few seconds, SHE said “oh, I’ve read that book.” In my mind I’m like “OF-COURSE YOU’VE READ THIS BOOK! OUT OF EVERY GOOD BOOK IN THE ENTIRE WORLD, IT’S THIS ONE INIT?” I just immediately knew the next few minutes of my life were going to be brutal lol.

So like every normal human being I said, “Oh really?” and in the shyest voice ever added, “What-what did you think of it?” To be honest I don’t remember most of the things she said. Why? Well I kinda started sweating. Did I mention I was kind of a shy person, and also that she was a girl? She was South Asian. She spoke for a few more seconds and I occasionally looked down at the book. Talking to a girl, AND this shyness bullshit! God, just take me now mhen! And she could tell too. Sweating, stammering. Common B. Why me?! I think I asked her whether she lived in Manchester. She said T.O. I was like “word.” They announced “time to board flight bla bla bla to YYZ.” We both dipped. Done. End of story.

From that day, I kinda vowed to always wear headphones to avoid such conversations; but luckily for me I’ve “grown up” so it’s all good. 

 

About Shlo "sunny delight" Mo

Aspiring Author. Music Lover. Into Jobs that don't exist yet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

